DOE/ASCR Selects Seed Collaborations for Software Sustainability

The HDF Group is excited to be included in this effort!

Sustaining an innovative software ecosystem for high-performance and scientific computing enables DOE science at exascale and beyond.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science (SC) today announces the selection of six collaborations focused on leadership in scientific-software sustainability. These collaborations will explore innovative approaches to the stewardship and improvement of the software ecosystem for high-performance and scientific computing, including the software ecosystem developed through the Exascale Computing Project (ECP), in order that the full potential of the current and future computing systems deployed by DOE can be continuously realized. The software ecosystem provides shared software packages, novel evaluation systems, and applications relevant to the science and engineering requirements of DOE.

SC’s Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) program looks forward to working with these teams, and our entire community, to chart a path forward for leadership in scientific-software sustainability. The collaborations are funded by ASCR Advanced Computing Technology and Facilities Divisions.

Principal Investigator Title Lead Organization Collaborating Organizations
Dubey, Anshu COLABS: Collaboration of ORNL, LBNL, and ANL for Better Software Argonne National Laboratory Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Ferreira da Silva, Rafael Center for Sustaining Workflows and Application Services Oak Ridge National Laboratory Argonne National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Heroux, Michael Toward a Post-ECP Software-Sustainability Organization (PESO) Sandia National Laboratories Argonne National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories, University of Oregon
Jones, Terry STEP: Sustainable Tools Ecosystem Project Oak Ridge National Laboratory Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.; Ames National Laboratory; Argonne National Laboratory; Hewlett Packard Enterprise; Intel Corporation; International Business Machines Corporation; Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Los Alamos National Laboratory; Northeastern University; Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; Rice University; Sandia National Laboratories; University of Oregon; University of Tennessee; University of Wisconsin
Teranishi, Keita S4PST: Sustainability for Node Level Programming Systems and
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Argonne National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Louisiana State University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Delaware, University of Oregon
Watson, Gregory Open Scientific Software Foundation Oak Ridge National Laboratory Foundation, Inc.; The HDF Group; Kitware, Inc.; Sandia National Laboratories; University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Competitive peer review selected these collaborations from proposals submitted under the DOE Funding Opportunity Announcement DE-FOA-0002844 and submitted by DOE National Laboratories. Total funding is $720 thousand in Fiscal Year 2023 dollars.

No Comments

Leave a Comment